top of page

Keep talking.

Actualizado: 5 jul 2023

Storytelling is the vivid description of ideas, beliefs, personal experiences, and life- lessons through stories or narratives that evoke powerful emotions and insights. Storytelling has advantages over the communication techniques commonly used in organizations, whether electronic mail, reports, or formal speeches.



Hello, Welcome to my blog, "Kitchen and Letters."


I have been full of many thoughts and ideas the past few weeks. I have not stopped for one moment! There is much that I want to write. I want to write about the tattoo series; Intuition, Why I Teach, and much more cooking. In other words: I do not want to stop writing! I want to and I improve my writing and get more ideas; I have done a couple of things:

  1. Join a cult! Not really. Just checking on you to see if you are still reading) I joined the most unique and incredible Circle of storytelling online ( sorry, guys, this is just for women) called "Yoni Circle" I will leave the information below. I promise I will get there; all those stories I have in drafts will make it to you.

  2. Education myself with online courses. I have joined a couple of writing and copywriting courses and followed my intuition. Learning is a habit that never stops. Since I graduated from University, I have never stopped taking classes. I constantly update myself and learn new things. I am an avid reseracher.

I first heard of The Yoni Circle at the beginning of the year. I thought it was one of those women's groups discussing periods and stuff. Which is ok, but I was looking for something else. One day, I decided to give it a try! And woman, if I am hocked! I love it. I love what they say: Our differences are our magic. When I heard that, it resonated with me so much that I wanted to know more about it. Now, it is part of my weekly routine. I participated in at least four circles a week.

Things that I like about Yoni Circle:

  1. I have learned to listen.

  2. I meet women from all over the world in the comfort of my home. I hear their story.

  3. It does not matter what my story is; I'm not alone.

  4. It is a great tool to practice compassion and connect.

After every Circle, I am left energized and positive. I am looking after ME. I meet and connect with other people, with other women that have something to say. We do not vent, which is something I love about it. Sometimes when we vent, we tend to focus on the negative, not what is great about our stories.

We are all wired to connect. Yesterday I was watching, as I always do, movies in Hallmark; I had a sore throat, I took a vitamin and literally went the wrong way. I never knew that could hurt so much! I need to stay home so the vitamin passes. I got a bit desperate at the time, but lately, I have been practicing patience. I stayed home. When I watch romantic comedies, I watch these films because they are easy to see, and I can multitask while watching them. Two: The story is always the same. Yes, they can become monotonous, yet there is something that I just noticed: The simplicity of it, the tale, and the fairy behind it all may be the reason why these stories and why most of us love, love stories.

Part of being human, specifically being a woman, is sharing stories. In a previous post, I shared how important it was for me to communicate. Well, not only for me but as a society, we need to share! That is what I do here, my life might sound simple and boring, but someone may connect to what I am going through. Someone may need a different perspective. We must see a different angle of our story to understand and take various actions to get different results. Romantic comedies even when we know that at the end 'They will live happily ever after." We continue to hope that one day, that will be our story. At the same time, it shows us that a simple is good.

Storytelling has empowered my life. I have been an avid writer since I was 13. I published poems in a local newspaper; I read a lot back then. I remember contacting the author of a book that significantly impacted my life. From that age, I wanted to become a writer. In a way, I have always been because I never stopped. I lost my confidence. I have gained it back.

Some of the courses I have been taking are related to writing, communicating, and sharing how to improve my writing and send the message I want to send. I hope you follow me on this continuous journey.

This time I am trying something new( as always) here; I will give you an activity. I will love to hear from you.

Purpose: How the stories we tell ourselves have a superpower. I will share how empowering storytelling is and how I have learned to change my internal narrative.

Challenge: Take 5 minutes to write about your story in April.


If you have enjoyed this post, Please share, like, and comment. Doing this helps me know more about my readers, and the post can reach more people. I invite you to read my older posts.


With love,

Iliana Lanuza


Links:

Yoni Circle:

https://www.yonicircle.com/

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page