top of page

Oh, Captain, my Captain.

Actualizado: 16 jul 2023

"Every child deserves a champion; an adult who will never give up on them, who understands the power of connection and insists that they become the best they can possibly be." - Rita Piersonit's


This was my first full-time job since 2016, and I was eager to take it on.


Welcome to my blog, "Kitchen and Letters."


When I first heard of the movie "Dead Poet Society" featuring Robin Williams, which tackles heavy topics like stress and suicide, I was too young to watch it when it was released in the late 80s. However, when I finally watched it later in life, I was captivated by the portrayal of an inspirational teacher. Despite searching for a similarly remarkable teacher or professor throughout my student years, I have yet to find one. Surprisingly, I discovered that I have something to teach others. Since 2019, I have been a full-time teacher, having previously trained people in the restaurant industry and passed on my customer service skills despite being a terrible hostess. Later in life, I pursued formal training to become a coach.


Teachers, like children, have aspirations for a better life. They both need each other.

At first, I never considered teaching English, but a friend suggested I try it. Soon, I found a nearby school that needed an English teacher, so I decided to go for it. Everything happened quickly - I interviewed on a Friday, and by the following Monday, I was already teaching a group of 7-8-year-old students. Although I felt nervous and uncertain, I adopted the mindset of "faking it until I make it." While I had experience teaching photography to teenagers and training restaurant staff for several years, I was excited to take on this new and challenging role. Ultimately, I needed the job and wanted to try something different. This was my first full-time job since 2016, and I was eager to take it on.

When I began teaching, my nephew was one of my students. I wasn't the kind of aunt who spent much time with my nieces and nephews, so it was a new experience for both of us. However, we grew to love and care for each other over the school year. I became more emotional when something happened to him, and I strongly desired to protect and care for him. I felt like I could shield him from anything, and I took on the responsibility of being my brother and sister-in-law's eyes as well. It was a commitment I was happy to make.


I started this journey when I felt lost and didn't know where to turn. After turning the page on many things, I decided to try something new. Hoping for something good, I committed to trying it for one year. Working in the restaurant industry proved more challenging than expected. I soon realized that the long hours were more demanding than I anticipated.


Throughout the school year, I discovered my compassion and empathy for children. Despite my initial reluctance, I found joy in teaching them English and social skills, even though it meant learning a new language, singing, dancing, and acting silly. The children seemed to be drawn to me, and I connected with them through my honesty and boldness, which they appreciated. I realized that children are refreshingly honest and unafraid to express themselves, which I now understand is why people say they speak the truth.


While writing this, a student from my afternoon class messaged me. They asked to bring a companion to tomorrow's session and informed me that they'll be late because they intend to purchase gifts for their pet dogs. This message reminded me how much I cherish teaching despite its difficulties. I always aim to be truthful with my students, adults or children, and provide them with more information than they seek. I'm creative in my teaching approach and tailor my lessons to meet my students' needs. Whether it's photography, English, or any other subject, I always start by understanding their interests and incorporating the necessary skills to teach the new skill for which I was hired.


As a first-year teacher, I faced many challenges, such as adapting to new rules and regulations and understanding the educational system. Teaching is a demanding job that requires exceptional skills and qualifications and never stops. Despite the critical role teachers play in shaping their students' lives, they often receive inadequate pay and work long hours. Teachers, like their students, have aspirations for a better life and need fair compensation.


While teachers profoundly impact their students' lives, it's important to recognize that students can also influence their teachers. Teachers can inspire students to strive for a better future when they lead by example. Unfortunately, it's difficult for teachers to achieve this when they don't receive the recognition and compensation they deserve. Society must truly value education by providing teachers with better support and rewards to show appreciation for their dedication, not just for financial reasons.


Teaching is a challenging profession that requires a lot of energy, patience, and commitment. Although some people assume teachers have a lot of free time, they work tirelessly to provide their students with the best education possible and often don't receive recognition or acknowledgment. Each student is unique and has distinct requirements and desires, which means teachers must manage their emotional highs and lows while supplying them with the necessary tools for success. Despite its challenges, teaching can be incredibly satisfying for those who are passionate about it.

How can we improve teachers' working conditions?


In summary, despite the rise of social media and alternative career choices like YouTubers, there will still be a need for teachers in traditional fields such as education and medicine. However, there is a risk that students may not fully appreciate the work teachers do and may be discouraged from pursuing this profession. It is important to find ways to improve the teaching profession and provide teachers with the necessary resources and support they need to excel.


I would greatly appreciate your liking, commenting, and sharing this blog.


With love,

Iliana



Links:

https://youtu.be/j64SctPKmqk


https://youtu.be/ye4KFyWu2do




Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page